Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-09-2011, 06:51 PM

2 posts, read 2,325 times

Advertisements

Ive had just about enough of Chicago winters, and am looking for a new job so why not move to Austin?

A few questions I have:

1 - What can I expect to pay in rent? Specifically a 1 br, located in or near downtown?

2 - How is the public transportation? I live 5 miles from work now but just hop on the train and am there in 30 min. Is it as easy to get around in Austin?

3 - What is the job market like? Im an accountant, CPA, looking for a new gig.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-09-2011, 06:54 PM

2,106 posts, read 5,792,973 times
I highly recommend that you find a job first before you move. I tried to relocate to Austin as well. Jobs are most definitely not that easy to come by in Austin for some reason.

Old 02-09-2011, 07:04 PM

2 posts, read 2,325 times
I am definitely not going to move without finding a job first...what is the best way of going about finding one?

Old 02-09-2011, 07:57 PM

844 posts, read 2,022,368 times
Quote:
Is it as easy to get around in Austin?
Nope

Old 02-10-2011, 08:28 AM

39 posts, read 96,748 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jarvis03 View Post
I am definitely not going to move without finding a job first...what is the best way of going about finding one?
Try monster or careerbuilder. I have a personal friend who is a CPA. If you want to DM me, I can give you his contact info and you can pick his brain

Old 02-10-2011, 08:42 AM

239 posts, read 518,613 times
Quote: