U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-11-2011, 02:32 PM

3 posts, read 3,726 times

Advertisements

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum so forgive me if this is a commonly asked question. I'm looking to relocate to Austin from Wisconsin. I made the 20 hour drive and arrived in town last night. I'm currently staying in an Extended Stay for the next few weeks but am hoping to find a job and make the move a permanent one.

I graduated from Wisconsin-Milwaukee this past December with a degree in finance and certificate in real estate. I'd love to find a full-time job in the finance or accounting industry but realize that may be hard to find within the next few weeks.

I'm looking for any sort of job to help make my move to Austin possible. I can't sign a lease on an apartment until I have some steady income. In high school, I worked at a restaurant in my hometown of Madison. I started as a bus boy and worked my way up to kitchen supervisor by the time I left for college in Milwaukee. In college, I worked at a bar in downtown Milwaukee. There, I worked as a cook and security (bouncer, ID checker).

Any suggestions on where to look for a job or anyone have any direct leads for me? I've been down to 6th Street a few times and would love to find a job in a bar/restaurant there. I'm willing to give almost anything a shot so suggestions for work outside of the bar/restaurant industry are more than welcome as well.