U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-16-2012, 04:17 PM

768 posts, read 1,072,815 times

Advertisements

I have recently found out that the apartment towers in Austin have to set aside a certain number of rooms for low income individuals. I'm a UT student who qualifies for it and there are a ton of options west campus for it but I don't like the area and would rather live in a more professional environment. Are there are high rises in downtown athat qualify for the program.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 09-16-2012, 05:35 PM

12,971 posts, read 25,252,596 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by philopower View Post
I have recently found out that the apartment towers in Austin have to set aside a certain number of rooms for low income individuals. I'm a UT student who qualifies for it and there are a ton of options west campus for it but I don't like the area and would rather live in a more professional environment. Are there are high rises in downtown athat qualify for the program.
Well, yes, but honestly, you are not the intended beneficiary of the program. They're primarily designed for people who are permanently low income, such as people with disabilities or who are retired. And there is far more demand than there is supply in low-income housing, so there tend to be waiting lists for such housing.

If you are genuinely qualified for such housing, and not just temporarily "student poor," then contact contact the social services agency you work with for information on how to apply.