Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-16-2019, 04:39 PM

3 posts, read 1,734 times

Advertisements

I graduated this past December with a Bachelor's in Computer Science and am considering moving to Austin sometime in the next 6 months (Assuming I land a job there).

I am currently living in a city in Minnesota with a population of about 35,000 but am interested in moving to a big city, somewhere warmer!

My questions:
- How long is the average commute, assuming you get an apartment on the same side of town as your work?
- Are there areas of town that you would recommend renting in or at least areas to avoid?
- What is the average summer and winter temperatures?
-This may seem silly but I use something called "Marth" (ie. Pine shaving pellets) in my cat's litter box. Does Austin have an equivalent to a Fleet Farm where you can buy products for horses? (That's what these pellets are "technically" made for).
- How safe of a city would you say Austin is?

Thanks for the advice in advance, I have been learning so much reading these forums!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-16-2019, 06:07 PM

7,742 posts, read 15,037,085 times
commutes vary, but I think it is reasonable to get a 30 minute commute. The more central the more expensive, but the shorter your commutes.