U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-25-2008, 08:35 PM

41 posts, read 137,023 times

Advertisements

so...i am new to austin and need some advice regarding contesting a traffic citation. i am at the point that i am set for a trial by jury, to contest a ticket i received for supposedly running a stop sign. the details of the scenario are as such- it was nearly 2am and i was driving down a dark street in a residential area (by the house i was staying at at the time) when i saw a car was tailgating me. this naturally worried me a bit for my safety as I am a. female and b. not familiar with the area c. just moved here from a city (chicago) where if someone is tailing you like that and no one else is around you don't want to be hanging around at the stop sign to see what will happen next.
anyway, it turned out to be a police car and i think he was hoping i was drunk so he could issue me a heftier fine, but alas i do not drive intoxicated (hell, i dont really even get drunk any more) and he seemed irritated that he couldn't bust a drunk driver so he told me i ran the sign.

anyhow to cut to the chase, i don't know how to proceed with preparing for this trial. the judge at the docket said she recommended getting an attorney if you contest the ticket but a. i don't know if i can afford one and b. if the officer doesnt show then the case will be thrown out in which case paying for an attorney and all the work they have to do would be in vain.