U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-17-2007, 07:59 PM

20 posts, read 108,576 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone,
I am new to Texas. My hubby really wants to move to East Texas (his parents are moving in a few months), and he wants some land. We want to spend under $250,000 so we can simplify our lives. We have teenagers and I really have to have good schools. Any suggestions? We hear Austin and the area is awesome...what are the plusses and minuses to the area? Thanks for any and all suggestions.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-17-2007, 08:47 PM

1,207 posts, read 6,027,356 times
hi there!

Well...just so you know, Austin is considered central Texas, not east Texas.

I don't know how big a house you need, but in the really good school districts here in the Austin area, you would probably have a hard time finding a property with some land (I'm saying "some land" is larger than 1/3 acre or so) for under $250,000. I think your best shot at it would be in the Round Rock area. If you're looking for an acre or more, I think that would be a really hard thing to find in that price range.

You can do a search in this forum for Round Rock and get a lot of great info.

Pluses to Austin: great small town feel, fun downtown scene, lots of beautiful topography, great people, housing costs reasonable compared to CA (except keep in mind property taxes here run about 2.5 to 3% of your property value - a significant difference over CA unless you are in an area where Mello-Roos tax is levied), better schools than CA