Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-28-2007, 07:55 AM

8 posts, read 34,333 times

Advertisements

I am an elementary teacher looking to relocate to the Austin area soon and I am curious about hiring policies.
Basically do school districts hire you and then place you in the school of their choice?
OR are you interviewed and hired by individual schools? Can you apply to individual schools?

Also how difficult is it to obtain a Texas credential/certificate coming from another state?

I am a PYP (www.ibo.org) teacher and am curious about PYP schools. I see that Anderson Mill in RR and Ace Academy are PYP schools. Does anyone know anything about Anderson Mill/Ace Academy or any other PYP schools in the area?

Thanks so much.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-28-2007, 08:04 AM

15,269 posts, read 35,633,631 times
It has been years since I have been in the teaching 'market' (got certified but never actually taught), but it used to be that the district (Austin, anyway) hired you and then placed you in a school based on certain parameters. If you had specific qualifications, you could probably limit the number of schools that would be targets.

Anyway, I think you could take one (or maybe two?) 'passes' on a job before they dropped you from the list of teachers to be placed. Again, this is from many years ago. If you do a search on this forum, a couple of threads deal with AISD and RRISD and list some good web sites.

Old 03-28-2007, 08:33 AM

447 posts, read 1,849,694 times