Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Texas > Austin
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-22-2009, 08:09 PM

111 posts, read 375,637 times

Advertisements

My family and I are really wanting to relocate to TX. I'm finding that there aren't a lot of people willing to hire outside folks. I'm a Java certified (SCJP 1.5) Software Developer; I have a Bachelor's degree and about 2 years of full on professional software developing experience. Should I just not even try to get some bites down there, or should I contact some recruiters? Cheers.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-22-2009, 08:40 PM

434 posts, read 1,080,459 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by silvad242 View Post
My family and I are really wanting to relocate to TX. I'm finding that there aren't a lot of people willing to hire outside folks. I'm a Java certified (SCJP 1.5) Software Developer; I have a Bachelor's degree and about 2 years of full on professional software developing experience. Should I just not even try to get some bites down there, or should I contact some recruiters? Cheers.
There are hundreds, if not thousands, of unemployed software developers like you in Austin. My advice: don't waste your time. Find some other cities, or change your career path.

Old 09-22-2009, 09:36 PM

1,930 posts, read 6,532,885 times