Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-28-2010, 01:07 PM

211 posts, read 283,624 times

Advertisements

Hello people!

I am new to the east bay area (from Australia) and have got my more immediate things sorted – SSN, banks, accommodation, credit cards etc. I am now dealing with DMV for my license conversion which is not going great. The whole thing is so inefficient but I will stop at that.

I need some help with Cars. I am looking to buy a car with no fixed make/model in my mind although I am absolutely hung up on Acura TL. I will be commuting from Walnut Creek to Dublin/Danville every day for work.

I originally started with a 10-12k pre tax budget however the cars that I drove were something I would want to buy. I mean nothing wrong with the cars but I like driving a decent car and the 10-12k budget did not cut it for me. Add to that the obsession on buying a TL or TSX.

I completely understand that for a few grand more I could buy a new Civic or Corolla or whatever but as I said, I am in for the experience of driving vs. owning the most economical cars.

I drove a sports mazda 3 when I was in Australia. I plan to visit few more dealers this weekend. Any help from you would be appreciated. Yes I am in touch with kbb.com, vehix.com and craiglist.org.

How would you guys rate TL or TSX. What are the things to watch out for when I buy a second hand car (craiglist or dealers). How much are the prices negotiable? Any other advice? Lots of questions sorry.[/SIZE]

Thanks!!!