U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-25-2013, 11:33 PM

2,135 posts, read 4,017,193 times

Advertisements

This is the scenario. I have a 2001 convertible Mustang. The transmission is shot. It was getting old anyways and we (GF and I) knew it wasn't going to last much longer. Went from very little repairs to over 1k in a single year. When I say 1k that is with my dad and brother both being mechanics (I have some knowledge....just not nearly as much as them), so that is just total cost of parts no labor. So 1k is very low in terms of what I might be paying if I just "took it to the shop". I don't nor does my GF think it would be wise to get a brand new transmission for 1k on an almost 13 year car. Sure we could get a used one from the junk yard, but putting in a 125k mile transmission doesn't sound like the best idea either.

I got the Mustang when I was a junior in high school and loved it. Youth with a Mustang was great. Ive changed though. I'm a man of practicality and function and honestly I don't like spending much money on a car. I would like to spend my money elsewhere than a car. I do need something though.

I have a few qualifications though on what I will be driving and so does my GF. It will be paid through the joint which we both contribute. After driving the Mustang for while I want AWD or 4WD. I'm done with these Ohio winters. I don't want to have to worry when it snows a mere 4 inches. No truck, van, or SUV. I just don't like them at all. Perhaps a crossover....but not a full blown SUV.