Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Automotive
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-08-2016, 09:51 PM

663 posts, read 1,618,899 times

Advertisements

Howdy folks.
Since Honda is offering 0.9% for 36 months on new cars, I plan to finance via them after I negotiate the car price. I have never done a car loan before.

Now is the loan approval on the spot? Will I know 100% that my loan has been approved before I drive out? What papers should I ask them to confirm approval?

(I read somewhere about the dealer calling back after a week and stating that the loan wasn't approved, get the car back scams or accept this higher rate BS)

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-09-2016, 07:43 AM

2,116 posts, read 3,047,730 times
If you finance through the dealer they will complete a loan contract for you including terms of repayment. Horror stories of loan scamming are usually from dealers without a new car franchise or without a legitimate factory backed financing option such as Honda Finance.

Don't fear the scams, but be smart enough to read what you are signing so you know what is actually being approved. The preferred rates like 0.9% will require excellent credit, so they could bump it up if you don't qualify. You need to know if that is legitimate or not and if you are willing to pay more if they don't approve you for the lowest rate on their tier system. If you know your credit is excellent, make the 0.9% part of your offer so you can walk away if they don't approve it.

Old 11-09-2016, 09:18 AM