Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Maryland > Baltimore
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-12-2013, 03:04 PM

32 posts, read 38,714 times

Advertisements

My situation is as follows. I moved to NoVa this past March to be closer to my immediate family and due to the abundance of job opportunities that are in the area. I work in banking so I was able to land many interviews when I moved out here and ended up getting hired by a bank that pretty much dominates the Baltimore market and is super small in DC/VA (I'll give you a hint their name is on your football stadium).

Anyways, I've been doing a lot of training in Baltimore and you know what? I am probably in the minority here but I totally dig Baltimore and the surrounding area, much more than NoVa! I've come to find that unless you make a 6 figure income you will not live a normal life and people are so much more laid back and down to earth up here as opposed to down there. Being a native Chicagoan it is easier to feel at home here since this is a more blue collar area. Now don't get me wrong there are some sketchy areas and I get that but I figured I could definitely live a much more enjoyable life out here on my 60K salary as I could in NoVa and to top it off traffic here is nothing compared to NoVa (double win!).

So here are my questions:

1) What are some good areas to look for rent in? I am a single professional in my early 30's so safety is my main concern and obviously I'd like to live somewhere that is decent.

2) What range could I expect to pay for rent in the recommended area?