Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Baseball
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
Old 07-15-2022, 09:49 AM
 
Location: Beacon Falls
1,366 posts, read 996,346 times
Reputation: 1774

Advertisements

Can't seem to find this - not even in the MLB rules.

We all know that if a pitch hits a batter, he is awarded 1st base. (Some exceptions apply, as in he has to try to get out of the way).

What if the ball hits the dirt, and then careens off of the catcher, and then hits the batter - is that a HBP?

What if the ball hits the dirt, and then careens off of the umpire, and then hits the batter - is that a HBP?

What if the catcher catches the ball, then drops it, and then the ball rolls into the batter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 07-15-2022, 10:42 AM
 
Location: Sioux Falls, SD area
4,868 posts, read 6,932,069 times
Reputation: 10185
Quote:
Originally Posted by riffwraith View Post
Can't seem to find this - not even in the MLB rules.

We all know that if a pitch hits a batter, he is awarded 1st base. (Some exceptions apply, as in he has to try to get out of the way).

What if the ball hits the dirt, and then careens off of the catcher, and then hits the batter - is that a HBP?

What if the ball hits the dirt, and then careens off of the umpire, and then hits the batter - is that a HBP?

What if the catcher catches the ball, then drops it, and then the ball rolls into the batter?
Under none of the instances you stated is the batter considered HBP. The pitched ball has hit the batter first to be awarded 1st base as a HBP.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-15-2022, 12:16 PM
 
Location: Beacon Falls
1,366 posts, read 996,346 times
Reputation: 1774
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmgg View Post
Under none of the instances you stated is the batter considered HBP. The pitched ball has hit the batter first to be awarded 1st base as a HBP.
Not always. The ball can hit the dirt first, then hit the batter, then it is a HBP.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-15-2022, 05:09 PM
 
17,598 posts, read 15,272,563 times
Reputation: 22920
Yeah, and this can get really freaky. If it hits his uniform, it's a HBP. If it hits a necklace.. Not a HBP. Helmet or other equipment, that counts.. HBP.



But jmgg is proper in his answer. The official rule here is that any ball offered by the pitcher to a batter is a pitch.



A ball that strikes the ground doesn't change that. However, a quirk is that any pitch that hits the ground PRIOR to entering the strike zone can never be called a strike.



Any pitched ball that goes through the strike zone is a strike. With the above exception



So.. If we throw oddities together here. Pitcher throws a ball that hits the ground, bounces through the strike zone and hits the batter. HBP.


Same pitch, if the batter swings. Strike.

Pitched ball is inside. Would be a ball. Batter swings and ball contacts his hands landing in foul territory.



What's the ruling? Many people get this wrong.


Spoiler
It's a strike. Not a foul. So, on a x-2 count, this situation happens. Strike 3, batter out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-16-2022, 05:12 AM
 
5,743 posts, read 3,605,486 times
Reputation: 8905
A batter is awarded when struck by a "pitched ball" A ball ceases to be a "pitched ball" when its trajectory is influenced. Similarly, if a pitch is blocked and rebounds over the plate, a batter may not strike at it. It is no longer a "pitched ball" and becomes a "ball in play" and subject that rule.

The Rules are usually quite thorough, bit 1.00 -- Definitions says "A PITCH is a ball delivered to a batter by the pitcher". Pretty vague. However, a ball that goes out of play is governed differentl according to whether it is a Thrown or a Pitched, so in that case there is a later distinction.

Just yesterday, I saw a review call in which a half-swing resulted in a ball hitting the arm or the bat, but also the bat hit the mitt, so on review, the batter was awarded first on catcher's interferene.

Last edited by arr430; 07-16-2022 at 05:39 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-16-2022, 08:20 AM
 
Location: Sioux Falls, SD area
4,868 posts, read 6,932,069 times
Reputation: 10185
Quote:
Originally Posted by riffwraith View Post
Not always. The ball can hit the dirt first, then hit the batter, then it is a HBP.
I stated that. If it ricochet off anyone else before hitting the batter its not HBP.. it's still a pitched ball.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Sports > Baseball

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2024, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top