Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Entertainment and Arts > Books
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 12-23-2016, 07:11 AM

67,650 posts, read 60,853,687 times

Advertisements

I'm currently reading Hillbilly Elegy by JD Vance. So far, it's EXCELLENT.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/08/11/bo...rump.html?_r=0
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 12-23-2016, 11:32 AM

11,113 posts, read 19,530,348 times
^^^ Good to hear you like "Hillbilly Elegy"; it's next on my list.

Currently I'm just getting into "Rogue Lawyer" by John Grisham -- love it so far. "The Whistler" by John Grisham is in my cue at the library ... might have to purchase it, I am #97 on the waiting list.

Old 12-24-2016, 04:02 AM

29,508 posts, read 22,620,513 times
I am reading the Yellow Green Beret series of books written by an Asian American and his experiences in the Army as a West Pointer and also as a Special Forces officer (1st Group out of Okinawa).

https://www.amazon.com/Yellow-Green-.../dp/146352949X

There's a wealth of information on how things are run at West Point, as well as the function of Green Beret A Teams and the selection process. I learned more about Green Berets from these novels than from any other book, as the author goes into detail on the mission scope and capabilities of these super soldiers.

He also doesn't hold back on the bad things he's experienced.

He also deserves credit for directly preventing the Kurds from entering the particularly nasty sectarian wars that occurred in Iraq during 2007.