U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Happy Independence Day!
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Entertainment and Arts > Books
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 04-14-2020, 08:16 AM
 
Location: So Ca
18,509 posts, read 16,997,708 times
Reputation: 16140

Advertisements

10 crime writers to read while under house arrest:

https://www.latimes.com/entertainmen...ph-cha-joe-ide
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 04-17-2020, 10:09 AM
 
4,052 posts, read 1,865,104 times
Reputation: 8227
Candice Fox has two interesting series: one is the Crimson Lake series and the other is a trilogy: Eden, Hades, Fall.
Pierre Le Maitre has an outstanding trilogy: Irene, Alex, Camille
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-17-2020, 03:00 PM
 
9,733 posts, read 2,623,096 times
Reputation: 22232
I like Tana French, Jeffrey Deaver and Michael Connelly.

I also like Harlan Coben and Lee Child (and the Lee Child/Douglas Preston collaborations).
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-18-2020, 10:10 AM
 
Location: So Ca
18,509 posts, read 16,997,708 times
Reputation: 16140
Quote:
Originally Posted by katharsis View Post
I like Tana French, Jeffrey Deaver and Michael Connelly.
Thanks for the suggestions. I've read all of Tana French's and Michael Connelly's books but didn't know about Jeffrey Deaver.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 05-05-2020, 06:57 AM
 
Location: Austin
34 posts, read 6,904 times
Reputation: 27
Another vote for Harlan Coben. So far I've read "Missing You" and am currently reading "Don't Let Go".
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2020, 05:09 PM
 
Location: north central Ohio
8,591 posts, read 4,739,890 times
Reputation: 5126
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_love_autumn View Post
IMO, for a thriller, it would be hard to top ~~"One Second After" by William R. Forstchen


New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly


real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America


loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon,


an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.


Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all


Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look


at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a


weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe


and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and


our end.

ETA: Unfortunately~Had to stop at 41%, as I could no longer stomach the gruesome gratuitous gore, and pervasive profanity. All the men sounded alike. Just a mind-numbing, extremely bleak read. Makes you hope, you're first to die!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 06-01-2020, 06:01 PM
 
Location: north central Ohio
8,591 posts, read 4,739,890 times
Reputation: 5126
Deadstick Dawn (Samantha Starr #1) S.L. Menear
The Marriage Lie Kimberly Belle
Breakthrough(Breakthrough, #1) Michael C.Grumley
Murder in Plain Sight Marta Perry
Vanish in Plain Sight Marta Perry
Danger in Plain Sight Marta Perry
Crime Scene At Cardwell Ranch (Cardwell Ranch #1) B.J.Daniels
Justice at Cardwell Ranch B.J.Daniels
Cardwell Ranch Trespasser B.J.Daniels
Forget Me K.A. Harrington
The Edge of Recall Kristen Heitzmann
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Entertainment and Arts > Books
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2020, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top