U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Entertainment and Arts > Books
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 12-15-2015, 08:36 AM
 
Location: Southern California
6,550 posts, read 8,928,236 times
Reputation: 6591

Advertisements

What good mystery/thriller novels (and/or currently popular mystery authors) are there nowadays?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 12-15-2015, 09:45 AM
 
Location: In the desert, by the mirage.
2,322 posts, read 770,781 times
Reputation: 2418
Tana French (Dublin Murder Squad Series)


Louise Penny (Chief Inspector Armand Gamache Series)


Both of these are excellent mystery writers. I was turned on to them by members in this sub-forum and for that I am most grateful
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-16-2015, 09:44 AM
 
Location: Southern California
6,550 posts, read 8,928,236 times
Reputation: 6591
Great, thanks.

Also, I prefer current-day stories (not historical crime) & prefer not to read a series in which I have to read them in a sequence.

Any other suggestions?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-19-2015, 06:01 PM
 
12,270 posts, read 9,903,231 times
Reputation: 8048
Try Franck Thilliez, author of Born to Kill and Syndrome E.

Both books are the definition of mystery/thriller.

Another good book is Start Shooting by Charlie Newton.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-19-2015, 10:07 PM
 
Location: TOVCCA
8,452 posts, read 12,340,573 times
Reputation: 12390
Crime mystery novels by Michael Connelly. They're all set in SoCal. He has a number of characters in a number of series going, but each novel can be read separately. He is a former crime reporter for the LA Times.

MichaelConnelly.com
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-19-2015, 10:29 PM
 
Location: Southern California
6,550 posts, read 8,928,236 times
Reputation: 6591
Thanks guys. I went to B&N today & I recall seeing Michael Connelly's book called Crossing today.

I got The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins today. It seems good & I read an article that says it's the fast-selling adult novel in history, so that says quite a bit.

Any others?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-20-2015, 02:24 AM
 
Location: north central Ohio
8,575 posts, read 4,732,195 times
Reputation: 5118
IMO, for a thriller, it would be hard to top ~~"One Second After" by William R. Forstchen


New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly


real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America


loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon,


an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.


Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all


Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look


at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a


weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe


and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and


our end.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-20-2015, 03:49 PM
 
Location: Southern California
6,550 posts, read 8,928,236 times
Reputation: 6591
i_love_autumn, great, thanks for sharing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-20-2015, 05:22 PM
 
Location: north central Ohio
8,575 posts, read 4,732,195 times
Reputation: 5118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forever Blue View Post
i_love_autumn, great, thanks for sharing.

You're most welcome. I read the 2-chapter sample and believe it is going to be a 'white-knuckle' read! I'm waiting for it to be returned to my library, but I am 4th in line!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-21-2015, 05:40 AM
 
301 posts, read 670,832 times
Reputation: 439
Quote:
Originally Posted by i_love_autumn View Post
IMO, for a thriller, it would be hard to top ~~"One Second After" by William R. Forstchen


New York Times best selling author William R. Forstchen now brings us a story which can be all too terrifyingly


real...a story in which one man struggles to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America


loses a war, in one second, a war that will send America back to the Dark Ages...A war based upon a weapon,


an Electro Magnetic Pulse (EMP). A weapon that may already be in the hands of our enemies.


Months before publication, One Second After has already been cited on the floor of Congress as a book all


Americans should read, a book already being discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a truly realistic look


at a weapon and its awesome power to destroy the entire United States, literally within one second. It is a


weapon that the Wall Street Journal warns could shatter America. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail Safe


and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future...and


our end.

There is also a sequel - "One Year After" which is also quite good!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply

Quick Reply
Message:


Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Entertainment and Arts > Books
Follow City-Data.com founder on our Forum or

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2020, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top