U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 02-02-2012, 08:08 AM

306 posts, read 654,659 times

Advertisements

Hey all, I am moving to Somerville, MA. I have never been here before and was hoping I could get some info on which areas I should avoid and where I may be able to find affordable, nice apartments?

I am a young female professional and I know it's so stereotypical, but I want to feel safe walking around. My car is also going to be full of my stuff while I stay at a hotel and search for a place to live, so I don't want it broken into. So any tips on which areas I should definitely avoid would be great.

Also, I will be working in Somerville not too far from the mall, according to Google Maps. I have a car and don't want a long commute to work everyday, but I'd live in Cambridge or around Somerville if necessary. Where might I find affordable apartments? I'd prefer a one-bedroom and I am not a student.

Lastly (sorry), I read that Somerville is one of the densest cities in the country. I read that and think, "most traffic congestion and worst parking situation in the country." Anything I need to know about having a car up there?

Thank you in advance! And if this belongs in the general Massachusetts forum, let me know! Thanks!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-02-2012, 08:30 AM

132 posts, read 514,921 times
A few things...