Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 11-21-2008, 07:40 PM

2 posts, read 4,927 times

Advertisements

Hi guys.
I am a French guy moving from California where I am an international student to MASS, Boston.
Yeah so Im moving because of Graduate school in Boston but mostly because California is too far from my cultural background for me

I love New England because I feel more like in a European place.
So here comes my question...
I am wondering which neighborhood to move to. I am looking for a medium price because Im not so rich , Im also especially looking for a neighborhood with the same culture I am from...So Western/Northern European people...(German, french, English, irish etc.)

Dont want to sound "racist" like americans say...But I have had my share of other cultures already....

Please help me out !
Nico
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-22-2008, 01:32 PM

12,940 posts, read 22,118,626 times
First, what do you consider "medium priced?"

We can narrow down the list when you throw out a price range, but here's what I can give you now:

1) The North End has a real European feel... probably more than any other U.S. city. There are narrow streets, cafes, and restaurants everywhere. It's very pleasant and walkable and it's convenient to the rest of the city. It's not cheap, but less expensive than neighborhoods like Beacon Hill and Back Bay. It's Boston's "Little Italy" and as a result many of the restaurants and bakeries are at least Italian themed.