U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 10-10-2009, 10:45 PM

36 posts, read 109,294 times

Advertisements

I moved to Boston a few weeks ago, and just joined Zipcar for practical reasons. I'll only really use it for occasional shopping and whatnot.

But now I'm slightly worried -- I am a relatively novice when it comes to driving in general, not to mention driving in a foreign city (and the foreign city being... Boston). Before Boston, I come from a small and quiet town, where everyone's pretty laid back on the road. It seems that Boston drivers are pretty impatient! Also, there are a few strange things like... if you're driving on Huntington Ave where the Green T line runs, do you drive on the T tracks?! That never quite made sense to me.

Any tips for driving in Boston or anything in particular I should watch out for?! Anything to prevent me from getting in a silly newbie-to-Boston-roads accident would be greatly appreciated!
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

Old 10-10-2009, 11:38 PM

4,621 posts, read 9,975,110 times
Before you make a right hand turn, look in your rear view mirror for bicyclists.
When the light turns green, allow 5 seconds for as many as 4 cars to blow the red light before proceeding.
Take down this information for future reference: Directions to the BTD Tow Lot - City of Boston
Dial 511 on your cell phone.