U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Massachusetts > Boston
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-22-2010, 11:53 AM

17 posts, read 39,611 times

Advertisements

Hey guys!

I'm new to the forums, and I'm a British medical student from Birmingham. I'm hoping to do my post-grad training in the States, and want some experience, so I decided to do 2 months of electives at UMass in Worcester.

Now I know its still several months away (April-May 2011), but just want some pre-lim info on commuting and accommodation.

I'm 25 years old...is Worcester a fun city to live in? I'm thinking of living in Boston and commuting by train to Worcester...bad idea?

What kind of rent am I looking at? $800/month get me something decent?

Thanks guys,

P.S. Sorry mods for double post, feel free to delete one. Just not sure how much activity the forums get.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-22-2010, 12:00 PM

289 posts, read 983,815 times
Im 20 years old and living in NYC but I was born in Italy and lived most my life in MA.
I lived for 7 years in the town of Shrewsbury right accross quinsigamond lake close to worcester. I liked Worcester but its a decaying city sadly. Its getting dertier and dertier but the possitive thing is that the cost of living is relatively low.