U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Brevard County
 [Register]
Brevard County Space Coast: Palm Bay, Melbourne, Titusville area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 08-15-2013, 10:04 PM

4,754 posts, read 4,897,567 times

Advertisements

I have been considering relocation for several years now wanted to move someplace warm, but never considered Florida. In fact, I was staunchly against Florida for a few reasons: Poor school systems, crowded cities, whenever there is a crazy news/murder/kidnapping story it always seems to come from Florida and - I'm almost embarrassed to admit it - an irrational fear of alligators.

But a few weeks ago we had an opportunity to take a vacation in Florida and we took it because one of my kids wanted to go to Universal and the other wanted to check out a college. So we were in Orlando and Winter Park for a few days, and it was very nice and pretty, a nice change of scenery and culture from boring Illinois.

And then we went to Cocoa Beach. And I fell in love. Hard

Now I am several years away from an actual move, and I would like to come back and visit several more times, but moving to the Cocoa Beach area would be like a dream for me. So while it's fresh in my mind I have a few questions!

1) What is the outlook for employment in Education in the area? I have a degree in English and hope to have my degree in TESL by the time of my move. How likely do you think I would be to find employment in ESL within, say, a 30 minute drive from my home?