U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Florida > Brevard County
 [Register]
Brevard County Space Coast: Palm Bay, Melbourne, Titusville area
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-02-2018, 06:55 AM

29 posts, read 20,591 times

Advertisements

Hey everyone. I'm a 20 year veteran teacher currently living in Portland, OR. We've only been here a year but can't stand all the gloom and drizzle and have decided to move to Florida. I have secured an offer in West Melbourne with a charter and have another coming in this week from another location. Husband can transfer to either location, as he's a manager for Lowe's.

Here's my question. The other school pays quite a bit more, but it is down in Royal Palm Beach where the housing is quite a bit more. I've done some comparison of several factors via best places websites, but I don't know how accurate the info is. Given the choice between Melbourne-area and Palm Beach-area, which would be a better choice for a small family? Just us 3, daughter will be in 1st grade. We will be renting for 6 months so we can save for a house downpayment. We aren't partiers, but we did move to Portland from Las Vegas and enjoyed choices for date nights. I think we are leaning toward the Melbourne area, even though my pay won't be near as much, but I'm just wondering if there's something I should know in comparison of the 2 places?

Thanks for info!
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-02-2018, 07:41 AM

84 posts, read 116,112 times