U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Business
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-03-2011, 08:57 AM

22,770 posts, read 27,556,130 times

Advertisements

I'm looking for advice from experienced entrepreneurs, and business owners.

I currently work in the field of geographic information systems, and I've been thinking about starting a small business in my field. (I also have web design, development and some programming skills, but those would be secondary.) The problem is that I don't have any clients, and the actual service I'd be performing depends a great deal on the type of client I'd be serving, so even explaining what I can do to benefit them is a challenge.

For example, a politician or a business could give me a list of thousands of local (or nonlocal) addresses, and I could plot those addresses on a map, group, sort, and analyze them geographically by demographics, income, etc., and use that data to make decisions. You can determine which areas are optimal to target for more advertising, or simply to get a better understanding of your customers or political base.