Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Business
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 09-19-2011, 03:55 PM

1 posts, read 14,896 times

Advertisements

I am an indepenent contractor that sells wine for various small companies. I have been advised/suggested that since I work for several small companies that I should form an LLC. I would be the only member & have virtually no fixed or overhead expenses in this venture.

I understand the liability standpoint for small sole proprietership, but since I don't really have to purchase anything (aside from small office expenses like paper and ink) and my car milage/gas is reimbursed, is it really necessary or worth it for me to create an LLC?

Seems like the information is conflicting. Some say that the liability protection is worth it, but I can't see what I would need to protect as I have nothing invested, aside from potentially hitting someone with my car I guess while "working" but wouldn't my car insurance cover that? And some say that the legal expenses/taxation of an llc isn't worth it.

Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-19-2011, 04:22 PM

11,555 posts, read 53,163,200 times
As an independent manufacturer's rep for a long time, my accountant advised that there was no net advantage to an LLC compared to operating as a sole proprietor DBA under my business name.

Like you, I had no employees, only a home office and took the standard deductions for the dedicated office space, equipment, communications, and mileage.