U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Economics > Business
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-02-2014, 08:08 PM

1,850 posts, read 2,601,676 times

Advertisements

I have extensive business experience . (Consulting, mergers, leveraged buyouts, etc...)

People approach me for advice and when I respond with- "call me at my office so I can put you on my calendar, I bill at $xxx.xx/hour and we can talk for as long as you need". People act put off because I charge to talk.

People seem to think I'm going to give away 20 years of experience for free.

Everyone wants to be a big shot deal maker but no one wants to put in the work nor pay for the expertise.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-02-2014, 09:08 PM

358 posts, read 607,800 times
Are these professionals that are balking at your rates?

Old 05-02-2014, 09:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by sideman View Post
Are these professionals that are balking at your rates?
Sideman-

Excellent question and great intuition.

That's the issue. They're rookies. Often times folks with a desire to do things in business but they generally don't have High level business experience and my background "fascinates" them. I can see dollars signs in their eyes. They already have the mansion picked out.

They want a fast track to the top. I've spent years developing my contacts and sharpening my axe. These "groupies" want to use me to take them from zero to a hundred million with "no money down".

Old 05-03-2014, 06:06 AM

176 posts, read 198,185 times