Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 11-03-2011, 04:34 PM

4 posts, read 9,060 times

Advertisements

Hey everybody - thanks for taking a look at my post. I'm new here, but thought this would be a good way to get some feedback. I'm moving to Southern California and have been doing some research on the jobs down there. My background is in sales and business development, mostly in tech and startups. It seems like San Diego, Orange County, and Los Angeles are all very different from each other, but in general:

a) Which area do you feel has the strongest economy and the best jobs? Best outlook?

b) I know it's nothing like Silicon Valley, but if there's a tech hub in SoCal, where would it be?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 11-03-2011, 04:57 PM

16,806 posts, read 39,767,938 times
b) OC

Old 11-03-2011, 09:28 PM

329 posts, read 623,398 times
Not LA for sure. SD is good if you're into science but OC appear to have a good mix of everything

Old 11-04-2011, 11:19 AM

Cool. I know that there's a lot of defense and biotech in San Diego, and obviously entertainment up in LA. I've actually joined some friends on a startup, and we have people in OC and LA, while I'm usually down in San Diego. Was just curious where the most entrepreneurship happens in SoCal. Between San Diego and Orange County - which has the stronger economy / more vibrant entrepreneurship?

Old 11-04-2011, 11:31 AM

36,628 posts, read 67,168,373 times
It all depends.