U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 03-11-2013, 06:57 PM

111 posts, read 167,839 times

Advertisements

Welcome

This thread is aimed at California Consumers with concerns or curiosity of how Real Estate Agents go about working in their industry. It is not aimed at eliciting the opinions of agents (I have an open thread for that) although that will be inevitable. This thread is for the consumer.

I am a California Real Estate Broker aware of “the” economic anomaly of the Real Estate Brokerage Industry.

An explanation: An Economic anomaly means that an event does not follow the rules of economics, like for example, the better and less available a product is, the price tends to go up. That is an economic principle. If under the same circumstances, the price would go down, it would be an anomaly.

In real estate, the more the price of homes goes up, so does the commissions, only that the costs of selling homes are not increasing. Today, it is actually cheaper for an agent to to assist consumers in buying or selling homes, cheaper that it was just a few years back.

The ideal would be that those savings be passed to the consumers, but as we all know, the fees charged remain pretty much the same.

The United States Department of Justice calls this a “puzzle” and in 2005 began working on finding an explanation, but still, they have not found one. I believe I can pinpoint the event, the moment the real estate brokerage machine takes a wrong turn. I want to show that moment in this thread.