U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-08-2013, 05:26 PM

15 posts, read 57,389 times

Advertisements

Hey everone. I'm originally from Europe and I'm currently living in Texas. I've decided that I cannot live far away from the beach and my first thought was California. I'm a doctor and I want to raise a family and live in a big beach house or at least near the beach. I'm not willing to pay millions for a small beach house when I could afford a spacious house that's not right on the beach. I understand California is very expensive but I don't know it very well and I'm sure some places are more expensive than others... I'd like to be somewhere close to the beach, in the Santa Barbara, Santa Monica/Malibu, Long Beach, Orange County (huntington beach/newport beach) or north of San Diego areas. I want to find a friendly family-oriented community and I don't mind a 30-40 minutes commute to work. Would I be able to find a place like this in Southern California or should I consider Florida as well? I don't mind not being right on the beach but I don't want to live in the desert areas of California or any place that is considered "interior". And what about San Francisco Bay Area? I've heard it's pretty nice too. Thank you.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-08-2013, 05:49 PM

1,083 posts, read 1,987,286 times
How big of a house are you looking for and what are you willing to pay?

Old 06-08-2013, 06:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe Van Fossen View Post