Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2008, 09:35 PM

30 posts, read 46,628 times

Advertisements

Through a series of very odd circumstances, my husband I wound up in Lompoc. We are in our twenties, with no kids yet. He's from the greater London area, and has a graphic design degree. I'm from a predominately Asian area in Southern California, (I was very comfortable with the demographics there), and I have a degree in plant science. We never had any intention of staying in Lompoc, and now that my husband's immigration status has changed to allow him to move around freely and work wherever he likes, we are trying to find someplace better to go. Here is what we're looking for:

1. Employment which is relevant to our respective fields (You can't do much of anything here except work at Wal-Mart)
2. Diversity (Ethnicity and age)
3. A place to rent where we can do a little gardening. A very small house would be ideal.
4. Public transportation that is effective enough to get around without a car

We want to avoid bedroom communities, places where the sky is brown due to pollution levels, cities that are nothing but concrete, and vast expanses of unimaginative architecture.

I'd appreciate any input that you folks could provide.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-18-2008, 11:45 PM

4,932 posts, read 12,755,796 times
Sorry no has responded to your thread yet. Alot of the people on here are not for cities and all that.