Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-08-2006, 08:11 PM

13 posts, read 110,795 times

Advertisements

Hi, out there in Sunny CA:

My wife and I and our 2-year-old and 4-week-old are moving from Nyack, NY, to the LA area as soon as our house here sells. I'm a musician working more and more in TV and film projects, my wife hates the weather here, and we're both self-described "west-coast types". We've done a ton of research, been out there 4 or 5 times, and after all that, have decided that the likeliest place we'd be happy within a reasonable drive of LA is LAKE ARROWHEAD. The last affordable houses in CA, really good schools, clean air, beautiful, but up a very scary mountain road (worst in the fog), pretty isolated, and 82 miles from Burbank for all those high-level meetings I'm sure will spring forth for me immediately (now how do I make a winking smiley, oh - . We're also a little concerned that we're not a great match for what's a bit of a Christian Conservative church-based red-state culture, though we've really liked the people we've met there. We love Ventura, but refuse to pay $750k for a 1300 sq. foot ranch home that badly needs a scrape, and despite a LOT of research have failed to find anything else closer to LA that meets our needs (my wife is a clinical research director for pharmaceutical companies, so something within a drive for her would be great.) We'd love to live in a Woodstock-style community out there, and Ojai has been suggested, though that, too is far from the center of thin