Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > California
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 07-08-2009, 08:35 AM

31 posts, read 182,328 times

Advertisements

I have family roots in both the San Francisco bay area and the Ventura/Ojai area. While prices are down, I am seriously considering moving back to California once my kids are in college. I am a painter, and want to spend the next decades enjoying the outdoors and the healthy life of good food and wine! Dreams!

I am looking into Sonoma and Ojai. How would you compare these two towns? I am thinking in terms of

people/friendliness
climate
things to do
housing for non-millionaires
life with tourists
I prefer country life with small town access to library, restaurants, farmers market, etc

Thanks for your input.
Zheni

Last edited by zheni; 07-08-2009 at 10:03 AM..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 07-08-2009, 12:21 PM

12,823 posts, read 24,397,340 times
I do not consider Ojai to be "Central Coast" - Ventura County, which it's in, is a suburban / exurban LA metro.

Old 07-08-2009, 10:28 PM

7,372 posts, read 16,012,366 times
Both are nice towns. Personally, I'd choose Ojai, but would be happy in Sonoma as well. And yes, Central Coast starts once you round Pt. Conception...or Lompoc, if you're a landlubber.

Old 07-08-2009, 10:41 PM

98 posts, read 605,162 times