Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > World Forums > Canada
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 09-13-2007, 12:56 PM

83 posts, read 327,754 times

Advertisements

I'm thing about moving to BC ,canada after college maybe to live in vancouver or victoria I wanted to know my junior and senior year should I look for a job first before applying for my permeant visa or just apply before looking for a job. my major is Teaching. On the website they say you should have $10,000 dollars before you move there which I'm not going to have so what should I do
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 09-13-2007, 02:22 PM

21 posts, read 162,859 times
No, you don't need $10 000 to move in but at least $2500. Keep in mind the BC is expensive and you will need to afford an appartment and furniture during your first weeks (it can some time to find a job).

Good luck!

Old 09-13-2007, 10:41 PM

118 posts, read 296,293 times
I don't know how the job market is there? But I do know the price of housing is extremely crazy. You might want to do a little research in the requirements to become a certified teacher in BC. I have heard it is harder to be certified there because the program is different then it is in other parts of Canada. And I seem to recall a post on another site about them not willing to accept credentials from other institutions in the U.S. and U.K.
Good luck

Old 09-16-2007, 08:05 AM

3 posts, read 10,024 times
I like vancouver very much and want to live in there. I don't know if I can find job without abrod education.

Old 09-18-2007, 10:32 AM

82 posts, read 619,335 times