U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Caregiving
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-22-2018, 11:32 AM
'M'

1,858 posts, read 2,862,708 times

Advertisements

I'm a professional caregiver. One of my clients is an 89 y/o female with severe aortic stenosis, that was just diagnosed this year. The doctors have put her on a myriad of prescription meds like diuretics and blood pressure meds - which I have no problem with, obviously. The problem is that this particular batch of meds has severe side effects. The two side effects that drastically reduce her quality of life are extreme tiredness and insomnia. Yes, and the stenosis can cause exhaustion, too.

When I check medication side effects I google "patient reviews of side effects for..(name of the medication" because then the real story comes out about what problems the medications actually cause the patient.

My client is used to being somewhat active, but she has no desire to be active when her meds make her want to stay in bed, and even sleep all day. She knows that something is wrong, but she doesn't really talk to her family about solutions. Her dementia prevents her from cognitively connecting with them unless they make it a point to ask probing questions, like I do. And take the time to REALLY listen to what she has to say. When she makes comments to me about what she doesn't like about her life, I listen to her and we discuss solutions.