U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
 
 
Old 08-01-2011, 08:51 AM
 
Location: Sarasota-Manatee, Florida
407 posts, read 732,972 times
Reputation: 181

Advertisements

So I have a iPhone on a 2GB data plan with Verizon. I've been using the Mapquest app while traveling and I notice it uses my current location. Does this use data? I know all the maps do but was curious with my current location.
If this does use my data does it use a lot?
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message

 
Old 08-01-2011, 09:06 AM
 
Location: Dallas, TX
31,765 posts, read 26,402,797 times
Reputation: 12287
On my iPhone (AT&T), there is some data usage if I have the map open. Otherwise no.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2011, 11:50 AM
 
Location: Downtown Harrisburg
1,434 posts, read 3,601,668 times
Reputation: 1015
Quote:
Originally Posted by JazzmanLI View Post
So I have a iPhone on a 2GB data plan with Verizon. I've been using the Mapquest app while traveling and I notice it uses my current location. Does this use data? I know all the maps do but was curious with my current location.
If this does use my data does it use a lot?
If it's updating the map to show your current location, then some data is consumed by downloading the map data. Exactly how much varies greatly based on window size and the complexity of the map. Generally, this is a small amount of data.

Note that Verizon lets you check your data usage at any time. Call #DATA and listen to the prompts.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-01-2011, 12:46 PM
 
Location: Sarasota-Manatee, Florida
407 posts, read 732,972 times
Reputation: 181
Thank you everyone! I was leaving it on on my way home to NY to avoid traffic through DC and Baltimore and was hoping this wasn't going to be a hog on my data plan. I saw my dot move along the map and wasn't sure if it was using data.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-03-2011, 09:58 AM
 
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
13,148 posts, read 15,247,273 times
Reputation: 9240
The acutual "locating you" feature is the GPS transponder built in to the phone. This, in and of itself, uses no data. But as has been said, every time you move new map data is downloaded.
Rate this post positively Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


 
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:
Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top