U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
View Poll Results: Do you Offload you Celluar Devices to WiFi
ALWAYS, Every chance I get (Open, Personal, Business) 4 26.67%
Only to Personal/Trusted Networks (Home, Work, etc) 7 46.67%
If I can remember 0 0%
Never, I pay Wireless Data and Damnit I'm gonna use it! 4 26.67%
Voters: 15. You may not vote on this poll

Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 10-01-2012, 08:51 PM
 
5,805 posts, read 9,170,529 times
Reputation: 3051

Advertisements

Saw this debate elsewhere...Basically asks with your Cellular Devices where you have the option of WiFi do you offload to it, or do you chose to remain on Network.

Me, on my S3 (Android) I keep WiFi turned on, I turn off "Notifications for Open WiFi" because I only connected to trusted WiFi (Home, Work, Parents House, BF's Apt, etc) and I like for my Phone to auto switch from the Network to WiFi when I come into one the aforementioned WiFi Areas.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 10-01-2012, 09:01 PM
 
24,497 posts, read 38,447,769 times
Reputation: 12883
I rarely (to the point where it is an exception) hook onto WiFi with my phone. The only time I do that is if I find myself in an area with no 4G (gasp!). 3G just doesn't cut it anymore.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-01-2012, 09:04 PM
 
Location: Wandering.
3,549 posts, read 6,126,880 times
Reputation: 2688
Probably should, but I have unlimited data, and a pretty good LTE signal at the house, so I keep the WiFi turned off and rarely turn it on.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 10-02-2012, 09:30 PM
 
16,308 posts, read 26,688,045 times
Reputation: 8339
My Android does it automatically, if I have connected to the AP before. 99% of the time the WiFi is faster than 4G.

I leave both WiFi and 4G on, it will connect when I'm in range of any AP I have previously logged into, and if not in range falls back to 4G.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:

Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
Similar Threads

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:38 PM.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top