Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Science and Technology > Cell Phones and Smartphones
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 03-17-2009, 09:29 AM

170 posts, read 1,013,160 times

Advertisements

Here's a simple question -I'm new at this.

I have a Cingular LG 2000 with wall charger and manual. Thinking about using it as a T-Mobile Prepaid phone, to be used rarely. Is this a GSM 2G phone?

Signup for an account at T-Mobile, buy a T-Mobile sim card for ~$7.
When card arrives, insert in phone sim slot. It should say 'restricted' something.
Go to EBay and buy an unlock code for ~$10
Buy a T-Mobile $10 Prepaid Minutes. If I never use the phone I'll need to buy this same $10 Prepaid within 90 days, or I lose my assigned number.

So in the first 90 days, I've spent a total of ~$27 + tax for an emergency phone.

Next: once the phone is unlocked, then I can buy a sim card from any carrier, take my T-Mobile sim and use it in any phone or even borrow one from another active phone? These sim cards are interchangeable?

Does this sound right? Am I missing something?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-19-2009, 08:00 AM

update: Apparently this sub forum not flowing with information on this topic.

Have received the Unlock code ($3.88)
T-Mobile sim w/activation & 10 minutes on order ($6.99)
Once assembled, I'll have a new emergency phone for <$11 and good for 90 days.

HTH others.

Old 03-25-2009, 06:51 PM

492 posts, read 960,250 times