U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Search Forums  (Advanced)
Reply Start New Thread
 
Old 09-28-2012, 07:09 PM
 
345 posts, read 801,910 times
Reputation: 124

Advertisements

Any prepaid phone service recommendations for two smartphones with total of less than 1GB data usage?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

 
Old 09-28-2012, 07:13 PM
 
Location: SW Missouri
15,861 posts, read 32,893,422 times
Reputation: 22595
Quote:
Originally Posted by kkn006 View Post
Any prepaid phone service recommendations for two smartphones with total of less than 1GB data usage?
PagePlus if you want to use the Verizon network. Simple Data for T-Mobile and H20 Wireless or AirVoice prepaid for At&t.

I have used PagePlus for about a year now. You can have a smart phone at no additional charge. (I do believe that all of the prepaid services charge more for Blackberry if you want to benefit from their enterprise system. However, I have a Blackberry on Simple Data, and they do not charge extra for it).

It's definitely the way to go.

20yrsinBranson
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-28-2012, 07:56 PM
 
345 posts, read 801,910 times
Reputation: 124
Hmm never heard of PagePlus
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-29-2012, 05:54 PM
 
999 posts, read 4,427,836 times
Reputation: 363
recently switched all three of our phones to Straight Talk....two smartphones on the $45/mo plan, one dumb phone on the $30/mo plan, since no data needed. One phone runs on Tmobile network (plan on switching that one to ATT once I unlock it), one runs on ATT, the third runs on Verizon. The ATT and Verizon phones have great coverage, mine is the Tmobile one and coverage is a bit less reliable, especially at my house, which is why I'm unlocking it to run off an Straight Talk/ATT sim card.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-29-2012, 06:10 PM
 
Location: SW Missouri
15,861 posts, read 32,893,422 times
Reputation: 22595
Quote:
Originally Posted by joanchris2000 View Post
recently switched all three of our phones to Straight Talk....two smartphones on the $45/mo plan, one dumb phone on the $30/mo plan, since no data needed. One phone runs on Tmobile network (plan on switching that one to ATT once I unlock it), one runs on ATT, the third runs on Verizon. The ATT and Verizon phones have great coverage, mine is the Tmobile one and coverage is a bit less reliable, especially at my house, which is why I'm unlocking it to run off an Straight Talk/ATT sim card.
The problem with Straight Talk, Net 10, Walmart Family Network, etc., is that you have to use THEIR PHONES. That's fine if you don't mind doing that, but I like to have a wider choice of what handsets to use.

With PagePlus, Simple Mobile, H20, AirVoice, Red Pockets, etc., you can use any phone that is unlocked or that is for the specific carrier that they use.

20yrsinBranson
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-29-2012, 08:54 PM
 
4,129 posts, read 10,781,091 times
Reputation: 1947
Not true. Straight Talk has a Bring Your Own Phone plan. I have an ATT unlocked phone that I am using with Straight Talk (an iphone 4).

You do NOT need to unlock an ATT phone to use with ST and you can bring your own phone.

Dawn

Quote:
Originally Posted by 20yrsinBranson View Post
The problem with Straight Talk, Net 10, Walmart Family Network, etc., is that you have to use THEIR PHONES. That's fine if you don't mind doing that, but I like to have a wider choice of what handsets to use.

With PagePlus, Simple Mobile, H20, AirVoice, Red Pockets, etc., you can use any phone that is unlocked or that is for the specific carrier that they use.

20yrsinBranson
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-30-2012, 12:01 PM
 
Location: Southern NC
2,144 posts, read 4,733,079 times
Reputation: 3398
Quote:
Originally Posted by DawnW View Post
Not true. Straight Talk has a Bring Your Own Phone plan. I have an ATT unlocked phone that I am using with Straight Talk (an iphone 4).

You do NOT need to unlock an ATT phone to use with ST and you can bring your own phone.

Dawn
Yep!
Love Straight Talk, I've been with them for 4 years....no issues.
Unlimited talk, text and web $45 a month.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-30-2012, 01:16 PM
 
10,071 posts, read 10,143,981 times
Reputation: 8438
What network does Straight Talk use?
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-30-2012, 01:56 PM
 
999 posts, read 4,427,836 times
Reputation: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by 20yrsinBranson View Post
The problem with Straight Talk, Net 10, Walmart Family Network, etc., is that you have to use THEIR PHONES.
No, you do not have to use Straight Talk phones, they have a "bring your own phone" plan. My daughter kept her Android (but is getting a used iphone as soon as she has the money saved for a 4 or 4s), I had an older flip phone so bought a nice used Android G2x (the bring your own phone plan needs to use a sim card, so ATT or Tmobile phones work, they do not need to be unlocked). I did get my husband one of "their" phones but he just wants a basic flip phone, and his old one was on it's last legs.

THAT's why I chose Straight Talk, because I could use the phones we wanted.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-30-2012, 01:59 PM
 
999 posts, read 4,427,836 times
Reputation: 363
Quote:
Originally Posted by CarolinaWoman View Post
What network does Straight Talk use?
Depends on the phone you have or buy from them...there are codes on each of the phones they sell...if you bring your own it has to be ATT or Tmobile, you purchase a sim card from them specifying the network. The android phone I wanted was a tmobile phone, but I'm not crazy about the coverage around here, I do use it on tmobile now, but I plan to unlock my phone then I can switch over to ATT simply by buying an ATT sim card from them ($15).
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Please register to post and access all features of our very popular forum. It is free and quick. Over $68,000 in prizes has already been given out to active posters on our forum. Additional giveaways are planned.

Detailed information about all U.S. cities, counties, and zip codes on our site: City-data.com.


Reply
Please update this thread with any new information or opinions. This open thread is still read by thousands of people, so we encourage all additional points of view.

Quick Reply
Message:



Over $104,000 in prizes was already given out to active posters on our forum and additional giveaways are planned!

Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
Similar Threads
View detailed profiles of:

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:10 AM.

© 2005-2021, Advameg, Inc. · Please obey Forum Rules · Terms of Use and Privacy Policy · Bug Bounty

City-Data.com - Contact Us - Archive 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 36, 37 - Top