Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > North Carolina > Charlotte
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 06-06-2007, 08:45 AM

1 posts, read 2,427 times

Advertisements

My husband and I have decided to move to Huntersville from Daytona Beach to be closer to our families in WV, but we really don't know much about the area. I am starting to have 2nd thoughts about the move. Daytona has plenty of things to do, but I think I can find a better environment in which to raise my son. Is the area family friendly? I am a high school teacher, and I am also wondering about the quality of the schools in Meck. and Iredell Co.? Any affirmation?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-06-2007, 08:49 AM

1,384 posts, read 1,914,113 times
Huntersville is extremely family friendly. You are 20-25 minutes from uptown, 35 minutes from SouthPark, 15 minutes to the University area = plenty to do in one of the Southeast's largest cities. Huntersville is blessed with a plethora of shopping, dining, and recreational activities. Your son can get involved in recreation sports outside of school if he likes. The schools are a little crowded but that is because people like you have come here en masse over the past few years looking for a good family-friendly town....so the crowded schools are something we all have to deal with as a result. However, more schools and expansions are in the works.

There are a ton of threads on Huntersville...go to the top of the page and do a quick search. I feel sure most of those threads will ease your mind.

Good luck and welcome!