U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Covid-19 Information Page
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 06-25-2011, 03:09 PM

2 posts, read 8,740 times

Advertisements

In July of 2010 I purchased a 1973 VW SB Convertible from a body shop manager. The vehicle had sustained an engine compartment fire that also damaged the rear portion of the cloth top. The insurance company had declared it too costly to fix and issued a salvage title. I have 50 years experience (1959 to present) rebuilding air cooled VWs and needed some activity while I recovered from a cancer operation. I was given the out of state salvage title (certificate) issued to the insurance company endorsed to me and the vehicle. SOS office told me it must be running (rebuilt) before anything could be done toward obtaining a Rebuilt title. It is now completed well beyond the mechanical and driveability levels from what I started with. New electrical, engine, rear body paint, top,... plus up grades in brakes, tires, ignition and other exterior trim. I have pictures, invoices, affirmation of work done and my check book. It is fully insured as an antique vehicle but can not be registered with the state until it passes inspection. Will trailer it to Springfield in the next couple of weeks to begin that process.

Question: does anyone have any suggestion or hint to help this process toward completion? Thanks!!!

Last edited by Vincent Kuetemeyer; 06-25-2011 at 03:18 PM..
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-30-2011, 05:46 PM

2 posts, read 8,740 times