Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 04-16-2012, 08:59 PM

15 posts, read 29,249 times

Advertisements

I am an architect and my wife is an interior designer, with a mid-century modern appreciation . We find that in general many of the suburbs are too cookie-cutter for us, until we came across Flossmoor, which has a great stock of mid-century homes. We have a very low home budget ($250,000) and thus were drawn to what Flossmoor has to offer. Any thoughts on the Flossmoor area, what are the advantages and what are the drawbacks would be incredibly helpful.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-22-2012, 08:43 AM

1 posts, read 2,764 times
Their property taxes are enormous. But I love the place; I grew up there and have a little apartment downtown now.
People are generally friendly.

Old 04-22-2012, 11:34 AM

11,535 posts, read 30,292,443 times
I think Flossmoor is very nice. However, I do not live in the Chicago, but I do in Illinois. The real estate taxes are obnoxious because the majority of that tax supports schools. There have been rancorous posts in the past arguing that Flossmoor/Homewood is declining and will eventually not be a very good area.

Since this board is a virtual forum, not unlike other forums where liars lurk, I don't know if those predictions hold water or not. I would take the time to investigate the area. Oak Park is also a very architectural area with Frank Lloyd Wright and Prairie homes. You might find a treasure you can rehab.

Old 04-22-2012, 05:38 PM