U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-06-2016, 12:43 PM

3 posts, read 2,644 times

Advertisements

My Wife and I have been renting in Oak Park for 5 years now and we just found out that we have a little one on the way which means our current one bedroom apartment wont be big enough anymore.

We love living in Oak Park (moved from Ohio) but we realize that we wont be able to afford buying there especially with my wife no longer working.

I work in Lagrange and would like to be within a 45 minute commute to work, priced under $200K.

First time buyers and not terribly familiar with any suburbs other than Oak Park and Lagrange, any advice/help on towns to start looking in would be appreciated.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-06-2016, 12:59 PM

28,461 posts, read 78,578,082 times
If you work in LaGrange it is kind of a slam dunk to put Brookfield at the top of your list. If you are OK with a fixer-upper you might want to look at something like this -- https://www.redfin.com/IL/Brookfield.../home/13293275

If you can get a good discount / stretch a bit you can probably get something that is more "move-in ready" -- https://www.redfin.com/IL/Brookfield.../home/13293671

This is little bit smaller, but it might be easy to expand with upstairs bedrooms down the road -- https://www.redfin.com/IL/Brookfield.../home/13295052