Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 04-17-2009, 07:12 AM

4 posts, read 45,227 times

Advertisements

Hi all

I'm moving to Gurnee in the next few month's, and am trying to figure out what the best way to commute to Chicago is. I work basically right downtown, and have never been a fan of the train.

I am new to Gurnee so am not too sure where the train stations are located etc, but does anyone out there have some advice? How long is the train ride? Is the commute really that bad if I wanted to drive?

Any advise appreciated!

Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 04-17-2009, 07:20 AM

1,728 posts, read 4,728,515 times
Gurnee is a 2 hour drive from downtown at minimum in traffic. The train is probably 90 minutes or slightly longer, but it is easier than driving since no traffic and you can relax. Why are you moving all the way up to Gurnee if you are working in the city?

Gurnee is closer to downtown Milwaukee than Chicago

Old 04-17-2009, 07:31 AM

My husband works works in Milwaukee, and I work in Chicago. We were trying to pick somewhere in between where at least we'd get more house for our money, and also more space (i.e: big yard...) so we ended up there after looking around at various different areas & houses! Thankfully I'll be travelling alot for work so won't always be in the office, but I still find the commute to be a little long. Since i've never taken the train to get to/from work, I was going to try and drive.