U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago Suburbs
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-31-2010, 11:06 PM

4 posts, read 6,433 times

Advertisements

This is totally new for me.

I'm a retiring veteran with Iraq-war injuries. I'm moving to IL to take a job in Green Oaks, a military there. I want to live somewhat between there and Downtown Chicago so its comfortable to drive to work and visit Downtown Chicago with my son.

I know I don't want to be far from Highway 90/94. I would love a house that's not older than 40yrs old but I'm definitely open to a very nice condo with minimum of 3bd/2bth.

Please tell me all ideas to consider. I know I would prefer Elmwood Park and Green Oaks. Lots of options, right?

If you know of any good listings or are selling yours also, please post also. Under $280k. Thanks, IL.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 06-01-2010, 06:00 AM

28,461 posts, read 79,918,694 times
Man that is a tiny budget in this region. I think you would be hard pressed to find a 3bd2ba condo for that sum. Even in the least desirable portions of Wheeling or DesPlaines (which is about far south as I would recommend given a job in Green Oaks...) you might have to settle for a two bedroom condo.

Green Oaks is a town that took the unincorporated parts of Libertyville and decided to go upscale. Still a long ways from Chicago, and no good short cuts to other areas that are more affordable...

The semi-funky areas near Rondout might have a deal or two, but that would not get you closer to Chicago to visit with your son...

Old 06-01-2010, 07:02 AM