Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-15-2007, 04:26 PM

4 posts, read 25,353 times

Advertisements

If you have a choice living/working in either metro Chicago area or Metro Dallas area, which city do you prefer?

Our situation: asian immigrants, mid thirties with two yound kids, wife stays home, pretty much suburban type. Schools are very important to us. I work in IT, and Chicago offers more opportunities in my specific field, and the job opportunity may offer somewhat upside potential. However, suburb to downtown commute and housing price (our ceiling is $350k) really sting me. On the flip side, surburban Dallas offers very affordable housing, good commute (10-50 minutes depending). The downside with the specific opportunity is little upside potential, little chance to move around, although the employer is very stable. BTW, my three year old really loves snow

Any intelligent suggestions out there? Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-15-2007, 05:27 PM

2,819 posts, read 10,402,897 times
Lived in the Chicago burbs for 3 years. Spend many a night on business in Dallas, well more like Addison, Plano, areas.

I would take Chicago hands down. The negative is home prices in the Chicagoland area, but lookout for property taxes and homeowners insurance in Dallas (Black Mold)

You state you are Asian. The Chicago burb of Arlington Heights, Schaumburg, Rolling Meadows has a high Asian population.

I just like Chicago, plus I also think it's safer than Dallas.