Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Closed Thread Start New Thread

Old 05-21-2013, 01:41 PM

15,323 posts, read 23,915,941 times

Advertisements

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lookout Kid View Post
For instance, the valedictorian of my high school, who was quite a brilliant guy, lives in a smaller Midwestern city as a physician. He will never leave.
I went to college in Iowa and it was rather messed up. To me at least. First, a guy I graduated with had a 4.0 in Computer Science which is really, really, really, really hard to pull off. He had offers from every major, good, and "cool" tech firm from Silicon Valley, NYC, and Boston. Instead, he decided to work for some small Iowa company making very average money in a company that isn't too recognizable in the industry.

Second story is when I was doing research with some Finance professors. We were talking about this (the one professor was from Toronto and went to college in NYC). She worked for Goldman Sachs and said Goldman said "Give me the resumes of your upper level students and we will hire some of them as interns in Chicago." She said when she told her students, NOBODY out of maybe 40-50 people wanted to do it. Why? Because Chicago was "too big." So instead, they took internships at small community banks in Iowa instead of Goldman Sachs in Chicago. That's kind of crazy to me, even if you think Chicago is big...that name on your resume will do a lot.

Old 05-21-2013, 02:47 PM

11,975 posts, read 31,786,761 times
Quote:
Originally Posted by marothisu View Post