U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Illinois > Chicago
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 01-12-2014, 02:12 PM

2 posts, read 3,061 times

Advertisements

I'm currently a grad student here in Chicago with an offer for a position in town upon graduating. I have a year and a half of school left and am currently renting in Lincoln Park.

Rather than continue to pay rent for the remainder of school, my family and I have been considering the possibility of buying a property downtown where I can live for the next few years, with an eye to eventually selling (at a profit would be nice!).

I'm in my mid-twenties, single, and generally social. I really don't know much about the Chicago real estate market outside of renting, and was wondering what neighborhoods people might recommend for such a purchase. Our potential budget is about $200k, so my current neighborhood and surroundings probably won't work. My job will be in River North. Thanks in advance.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 01-12-2014, 02:58 PM

2,990 posts, read 4,714,795 times
I don't know *all* that much about realty, but I would say that in most instances that isn't going to get you much of a condo "downtown."

That would probably not really get you much of a condo in any halfway decent neighborhood.

There are exceptions. I have a friend who bought in Sandberg Terrace, for instance. It is close to downtown, safe and might have been under that when they purchased 7 years ago... BUT now they cannot sell it, and have not been able to sell it for years.