Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Religion and Spirituality > Christianity
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 02-13-2014, 09:23 PM

1,311 posts, read 1,528,808 times

Advertisements

I'm not an expert in this so I hope there will be some who can help me understand better how Church Tax works. Several European countries have had them for years including,

1 Austria
2 Croatia
3 Denmark
4 Finland
5 Germany
6 Iceland
7 Italy
8 Sweden
9 Switzerland

The way it works is, these governments collect taxes for various approved churches. The money is then used for church support.

Recently, Germany's highest court ruled people are entitled to leave a church and therefore not pay the tax. What really upset one church in particular was that someone could leave the church, quit paying the tax, yet continue to attend services anyway. This church made it clear;if you don't pay the tax you will receive no sacraments. No payment-No penance, no Eucharist, no being Godparents, no Church Burial. Unless, as the Church wrote, they “give some sign of repentance.”

The taxes generated is no pittance. In 2011, the RCC raked in $6.5 billion, the Protestants $5.5 billion. Much of the money goes to hospitals, schools, day care, other social services, and the Vatican. Ranging anywhere from 8%-9% the tax is difficult for many to pay. It is, in part to blame for 3 million people leaving the RCC. It seems to, the price is too high compared to the perceived benefit for many.

Quote: