U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > General Forums > Religion and Spirituality > Christianity
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 12-09-2008, 10:29 AM

8,989 posts, read 13,455,952 times

Advertisements

Growing up as a Pentecostal I constantly heard, this one backslid, that one backslid even a couple a weeks ago my Pastor made an alter call in which he used the terms "backslide" and "recommit your life to Christ" but now that I believe "once saved always saved" how can "backsliding" or RE-committing" be?

I studied this term only to find it is found absolutely no where in the New Testament it is only in the Old Testament primarily for the Jews, God's chosen people who had turned their backs on God and rebelled against His word which is why they were forced to make so many sacrifices over and over again to reestablish fellowship with their God for the covering of their sins but Jesus Christ was our perfect sacrifice so there is no need for that.

I find these terms to be dangerous because it gives many "false converts" a sense of security in salvation not to mention gives the atheist who were former "christians" a good argument against the validity of the bible and the Holy Spirit on how they could go back to not believing in God but that's me.

(1 John 2:19)
19 They went out from us, but they did not really belong to us. For if they had belonged to us, they would have remained with us; but their going showed that none of them belonged to us.

(2 Timothy 2:11–13)
11 It is a faithful saying: For if we be dead with him, we shall also live with him: