U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > Ohio > Cincinnati
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Reply Start New Thread

Old 05-09-2010, 10:08 AM

4 posts, read 10,389 times

Advertisements

I am considering buying a house in the 5400 block of Whetsel Ave. It is an arts and crafts bungalow - my dream house - it is a stunner although it needs some serious work - I have the skills to restore it.

I am new to Cincinnati and would appreciate frank advice.

I am a middle aged white woman. I live alone so no need to fret about schools. I have lived happily in integrated neighborhoods in Philadelphia and Washington. I would definitely be in the minority here.

My question - is Whetsel safe? Is the area welcoming to various cultures? Some neighborhoods can be hostile to outsiders. The houses nearby are in good condition but streets a few blocks over are hurting.

I have read that Madisonville is up and coming. I would just like to live quietly and respectfully with my neighbors.
Rate this post positively Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-09-2010, 10:23 AM

9,259 posts, read 15,082,928 times
My advice is follow your instincts. Spend enough time in the neighborhood to get a real feeling as to what is going on. If it feels good to you and restoring this house is an ambition, then go for it. You may get a lot of adverse advice in this forum, but it takes people like you to invest in and turn around a neighborhood. If you decide to buy, best wishes.

Old 05-09-2010, 10:38 AM

10,135 posts, read 25,311,463 times