Welcome to City-Data.com Forum!
U.S. CitiesCity-Data Forum Index
Go Back   City-Data Forum > U.S. Forums > General U.S. > City vs. City
 [Register]
Please register to participate in our discussions with 2 million other members - it's free and quick! Some forums can only be seen by registered members. After you create your account, you'll be able to customize options and access all our 15,000 new posts/day with fewer ads.
View detailed profile (Advanced) or search
site with Google Custom Search

Old 05-26-2016, 04:36 PM

1 posts, read 2,131 times

Advertisements

For living situations, which would you prefer?

I’m a young professional and was lucky enough to get identical job offerings from a government agency in two locations: Minneapolis and Baltimore. I only have a few days to choose which area I want to live in. I grew up right outside of Minneapolis (and live there currently), while I have only visited the D.C.-Baltimore area for two days. That said, I want to work in D.C. eventually and see Baltimore as a chance to see what it’s like.

However, I know no one in the Baltimore area (my closest friends would be in Boston), and my family and friends still live in the Minneapolis area. As for climate, I hate Minnesota winters but enjoy the greenery. I’m not familiar with Baltimore’s climate as much, but I’m assuming winters are milder but overall has lower air quality.

All considerations add up about equal each direction for me, and so I’d like to hear your opinions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 05-26-2016, 04:47 PM

5,025 posts, read 5,692,491 times
Baltimore gets a lot of flak it doesn't deserve, it's an awesome city with a lot to offer, and close to a lot of other awesome spots.

However, Minneapolis is significantly more affordable in decent areas, and likely more breathable too, so I'd probably pick that, as it is an awesome city otherwise too.

Old 05-26-2016, 05:22 PM

2,249 posts, read 2,828,921 times